Derby History Quiz
While Derby is reviewing new ideas for the redevelopment of its downtown, we thought this building might stand as a reminder of earlier renewal efforts in Derby. As many of our regulars noted, the building stood and the corner of Main and Elizabeth Streets. Currently, there is a small parking lot on this site next to the Twisted Vine Restaurant. Studio 275 is also located there in a building that stretches up Elizabeth Street. The building pictured above was erected by A. H. and C. B. Alling about 1905 and stood until the redevelopment of the 1960's. Many people also pointed out that at one time Hubbell Brothers Shoe Store, the oldest in Connecticut, was located in the building. Hubbell's has since moved across the street and continues in operation to this day.
The Alling family was very prominent in Derby. The brothers (Amos & Charles) owned the A. H. & C. B. Alling firm which they moved to Derby from Orange because of the water power here. The firm later became known as the Paugassett Mills and produced woolen hosiery and underwear. In addition to the building pictured above, the brothers were responsible for many other buildings in downtown Derby including the Howard & Barbers department store.
We have decided to accept correct answers from anyone who identified the location as no one identified the Alling brothers connection with the building though most remembered Hubbell Brohter being there. Correct answers were received from: Randy Ritter, Edward Baclawski, Marsha Pettingill, Cathy Vaine, Alicia Sobczynski, J. McMahon, Brian McMahon, Gene Wajdowicz, John M. Rak, Glenn Stevens, Mary Lou Boroski, Jack Skelding, Heather Battaglia, Marilyn Sheppard and Clarence Douglass.
To see our other earlier quizzes and learn more about Derby's unique history, click here.