## ANT-91-439

## DERBY PUBLIC SCHOOLS

## 35 Fifth Street Derby, Connecticut 06418

(203) 736-5027 · fax (203) 736-5031 · www.derbyps.org

Dr. Matthew Conway, Jr. Superintendent of Schools

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

March 16, 2018 For more information, contact: Dr. Matthew J. Conway, Jr. 203-736-5027

March is Board of Education Member Appreciation Month

On March 15, 2018, the Derby Board of Education was recognized by the Connecticut Association of Boards of Education (CABE) for receiving the Bonnie B. Carney Awards of Excellence for Educational Communications.

The Connecticut Association of Boards of Education is celebrating Board of Education Member Appreciation Month in March, and is asking all citizens to join them in building awareness and understanding of the vital function an elected board of education plays in our society. I ask you to join me in recognizing the incredible work of the Derby Board of Education and thank them for their relentless pursuit of excellence for your child and this City. They selflessly sacrifice their time and countless hours listening, learning, researching and advocating for what is best for our kids, our District, our City and this family.

Through the Leadership and guidance of Chairman Gildea and the trust and support of the members of the Board, every administrator, teacher, staff member and student is given a voice, so together, as a family, we continue to improve and make decisions that are best for our kids.

Chairman Gildea said, "This Board has a clear and consistent track record for putting the interests of our children at the center of all that we do. We are a committed team of individuals who combine our collective experiences to always ensure the school system has the tools they need to keep moving the bar higher. It is an honor to serve with such dedicated people."

Please reach out and thank a Board member today. It is a small but meaningful gesture of the gratitude we have for their service.



Derby Board of Education Members front left to right: Casey Picheco, Vice Chair Laura Harris, Debra Borrelli and Chairman Jim Gildea. Back row left to right: Rebecca O'Hara, Superintendent Matthew Conway, Ken Marcucio, Sr., Dan Foley, Secretary Janine Netto and George Kurtyka.