Derby History Quiz - Ryan Field
Today it is Ryan Field, but back in 1935 when this picture was taken by the late John P. Kiley it was known as Coon Hollow Field. Today it is the home of the Derby High School football, soccer and baseball teams. This picture is facing north from the hill behind the third base line on the baseball field. According to notes written on the back of the picture by Mr. Kiley, the project was financed by a $100,000 bond issue floated by the City of Derby. The mayor's name at the time was George P. Sullivan. Interestingly, Mr. Kiley who played some football himself as a student at Derby High School was Town Clerk at the time. According to his notes, the W.P.A., a depression-era works project, didn't get involved in this project until October of 1936.
The Sports Complex on Chatfield Street was renamed in honor of legendary Derby High School teacher and coach "Nuggy" Ryan. The football portion of the complex was renamed for another legendary Derby football coach, Lou DeFillipo in 1997.
Correct answers were received from:
To see our earlier quizzes and learn more about Derby's unique history, click here.